Did you know that November is World Vegan Month?! An entire month to celebrate all things vegan. But, what does it mean to be vegan and can vegan's eat chocolate? These questions can be difficult to answer because there are varying degrees of veganism. For some, it is a diet that avoids animal mistreatment and slaughter. While, others regard it as a lifestyle that abstains from animal byproducts for ethical and health reasons, but also embraces the environmental impact of their food choices.
Quiz: Is chocolate vegan?
It's time to put yourself to the test. Just how much do you know about vegan foods? Take our quiz and test your vegan knowledge of chocolate and chocolate ingredients!
These delicious gourmet vanilla marshmallows
are made with gelatin. Gelatin is often derived from animals, so vegans usually try to avoid foods that contain it.
Vegans rejoice! Our solid dark chocolate
(54% cocoa content and higher) is dairy-free, containing only cocoa mass, sugar, cocoa butter (vegan), soy lecithin, and vanilla.
All-natural peanut butter is made from two simple ingredients – crushed peanuts and salt. For vegans it can be great source of protein
No. As the name indicates, milk chocolate contains milk (a byproduct that most vegans try to avoid).
Yes. Despite it’s name, cocoa butter doesn’t actually contain dairy. It is the yellowish-white vegetable fat that is produced when cocoa beans are pressed under a high pressure.
Vegans will love the cool, refreshing crunch that these small pieces of peppermint candy
add to some of our most-loved chocolates.
Our deliciously rich and full-bodied hot chocolates
do not contain milk powder. So, go ahead and mix with your favorite soy, coconut or almond milk for a delicious dairy-free treat that will warm your soul.
No. Chocolate ganache is made by blending chocolate, cream and butter to form the center of our iconic truffles. The added cream and butter (dairy) in chocolate ganache are ingredients that most vegans try not eat.
Yes. Despite having “milk” in the name, coconut milk does not actually contain dairy. This milk-like liquid is produced when the coconut meat is grated. Coconut milk is a great dairy-free alternative for vegans.
No. In order to get a delectable golden caramel, fresh Vermont cream and sugars are slow-cooked to perfection a big copper kettle. The added cream (dairy) is an ingredient that most vegans try to avoid.
No. White chocolate is made by combining sugar, cocoa butter, milk solids, lecithin, and vanilla. The added milk solids (dairy) are an ingredient that most vegans try to avoid.
Honey has always been a hot topic of debate
among vegans. But, when it comes down to it, honey is an animal byproduct (produced by bees) that most vegans try to avoid.
Yes. Gianduja [john-DOO-yah] is tantalizing mixture of ground hazelnuts and chocolate. When the gianduja is made with dark chocolate; no dairy is added. Therefore making it a delicious vegan-friendly treat.
Yes. True Vermont maple syrup is the made from the sap of maple trees, making it a delicious vegan-approved sweetener.
Thanks for taking the time take our quiz. Hopefully you discovered something new about vegan chocolates and ingredients! For a full listing, check out our vegan chocolates. Happy World Vegan Month!